Below is a brief, excellent video from McMaster University Libraries about creating both in-text and works-cited citations in MLA 8.
Doing Honest Work in College: how to prepare citations, avoid plagiarism, and achieve real academic success by
explains the fundamentals of academic integrity in a clear, straightforward way and shows students how to apply them in all academic situations. It stands on three principles: do the work you say you do, give others credit, and present your research fairly.
MLA Handbook by
"The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index"
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by
This book goes into extensive detail about the scholarly writing process and includes citation information. We have copies you can borrow and in reference for in-library use.
A Pocket Style Manual by
"The eighth edition of A Pocket Style Manual covers everything you need for college writing - especially researched writing. New step-by-step advice applies to writing assignments in any course." This title is available in the reference and circulating collections.
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers by
This in-depth guide to the process of writing research papers includes chapters on citations. This title can be borrowed.
You must cite anything that you use in your research, even if it isn't a book, article, web site, or article from a database. If you use any of the following in your research, cite them as well.