LibGuides: Gotsch Papers: Databases and Online Resources

Library Databases

To access the following databases, you must sign in with your C-GCC email address and password.

Historical Statistics of the United States
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. This compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources includes topics ranging from migration and health to crime are placed in historical context.
JSTOR
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

Web Resources

Historic Hudson
Official website of Historic Hudson, a non-profit organization devoted to preserving the city's architectural heritage.
Hudson Area Library History Room
Web page that lists the room's hours, holdings, and more.
Hudson River Valley Heritage
"Explore digital collections from libraries and cultural heritage institutions that document the rich history of New York’s Hudson River Valley. Discover photographs, diaries, correspondence, artwork, publications, oral history interviews, and more."
Hudson River Valley Institute
Home page of the regional heritage center based out of Marist University. Publishes the journal Hudson River Valley Review.
Hudson River Valley Institute links
Webpage with links to websites addressing a variety of regional history topics.
Local Historians and Historical Societies
Columbia County Historical Society webpage listing town historians, historical societies, and town and village clerks.
New York Slavery Records Index Hosted by the John Jay College of Criminal Justice, "The New York Slavery Records Index is a searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and their owners, beginning as early as 1525 and ending during the Civil War."
New York State Census Digital Collections
New York State Library page that includes digitized primary source state census material from the 19th century. Includes links to other valuable pages.
New York State Census Records
Page that shows county-by-county listings of the New York state censuses available on microfilm at the state library in Albany. According to the Rochester Genealogical Society's website, "New York State took a census every ten years from 1825 to 1875. They also took a census in 1892; then every ten years from 1905 to 1925. The early census was as much interested in agricultural production as in the number of inhabitants. Only the name of the head of household is listed from 1825 to 1845. Many of these early census records have been lost." In addition, from the same website: "Existing original census records are usually in the County Courthouse or with the County Historian."
New York State Library Instagram
Images of a variety of items from the collections of the New York State Library, with accompanying descriptive text.
United States Census Bureau This site contains a wealth of demographic information on all 50 states, plus cities and towns, in addition to economic information. Site includes maps and infographics.