Databases and Websites - PY 201 - Lifespan Development - LibGuides at SUNY Columbia-Greene Community College

Websites

You can use the following websites to get an idea of how to write a film review.

IMDB (Internet Movie Database
Leading site with information about movies. Includes reviews.
The New York Times
The Times features a separate movies section. It also has a search feature allowing your to search for reviews of your film. As a C-CGCC student you can sign up for a free digital account using your college email address.
Rotten Tomatoes
Leading movie website that includes quotes from reviews, with links to full reviews.

Databases

To access the following databases, you must sign in with your C-GCC email address and password.

Academic Search Complete
Covers most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals - as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals - and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)
Contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
PsychARTICLES
A counterpart of PsycINFO, this database provides full text for some of the abstracts found in PsycINFO. Covers general psychology offering access to over 25,000 articles available from 1988-present.
PsychINFO
Access to articles in the field of psychology and related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law (Covers 1887-present, more than 1,700 journals).
Psychology and Behaviroal Sciences Collection
Contains 570 full-text journals and 48 books & monographs, offering users access to many of the most prominent and well-respected journals in the field. The database also includes full-text content from relevant magazines and health reports. Coverage is particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.

Why Use Databases?

Using databases for your research has several advantages:

The material is appropriate for college research.
The author(s) of the articles on our databases have credibility in their fields.
Databases provide helpful features, such as being able to e-mail articles to yourself, and providing sample citations you can download and/or print.
Suggested narrower topics when you begin typing your search terms.
The ability to narrow your results further after receiving your initial search results.

Database Tutorials

Every databases offer tutorials to help you use the site; just look for the HELP tab. There are several video tutorials available as well on our Database Video Tutorials guide.

PY 201 - Lifespan Development: Databases and Websites

Websites

Databases

Why Use Databases?

Database Tutorials