CO 205 Intercultural Communication: Databases

If accessing these links from off-campus, you will need to log in using your username and password, which is your last name and last four digits of your student ID (smith1234 or clinton-dix5678)

Films on Demand is the library's streaming video database, with videos covering every subject taught at C-GCC. Click on the icon above to be taken to the database to search for videos. If you access this database from off campus, you will need to log in using your username and password, both of which are your last name and last four digits of your student ID (example smith1234 or clinton-dix4567). 

If accessing these links from off-campus, you will need to log in using your username and password, which is your last name and last four digits of your student ID (smith1234 or clinton-dix5678)

Every databases offer tutorials to help you use the site; just look for the HELP tab. There are several video tutorials available as well on our Database Video Tutorials guide. 

Using databases for your research has several advantages:

1. The material is appropriate for college research.
2. The author(s) of the articles on our databases have credibility in their fields.
3. Databases provide helpful features, such as being able to e-mail articles to yourself, and providing sample citations you can download and/or print.
4. Suggested narrower topics when you begin typing your search terms.
5. The ability to narrow your results further after receiving your initial search results.

Peer-review, in its simplest terms, is when an expert reviews the research report of another expert. 

Here's how it works in terms of journals that are available on library databases: 

An expert or team of experts in a subject will conduct research. They will write about their research and conclusions. This process often includes descriptions of the research methods they used. The paper may also include a brief review of other articles on the subject, or a Literature Review. When the researcher(s) has finished their paper, they will submit to a journal that publishes new research in a subject. A Peer-Reviewed Journal is one where submissions are reviewed by a team of experts. These experts will review the paper, the conclusions, the sources used, and the research methods used (if applicable). If the reviewers find that the complete work meets or exceeds the standards for research in the field, and the findings result in new insights into the subject, the article will be published in the journal.