Unlike MLA and APA, Chicago style has two ways of creating in-text citations: the notes and bibliography method and the author-date method. Check for your professor's preferred method. Here are some links that explain the two methods:
The following video tutorial comes courtesy of the Conestoga College Library.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media. We have a copy in the reference collection for in-library use.
Doing Honest Work in College: how to prepare citations, avoid plagiarism, and achieve real academic success by
explains the fundamentals of academic integrity in a clear, straightforward way and shows students how to apply them in all academic situations. It stands on three principles: do the work you say you do, give others credit, and present your research fairly.
A Pocket Style Manual by
"The eighth edition of A Pocket Style Manual covers everything you need for college writing - especially researched writing. New step-by-step advice applies to writing assignments in any course." This title is available in the reference and circulating collections.
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers by
This in-depth guide to the process of writing research papers includes chapters on citations. This title can be borrowed.
You must cite anything that you use in your research, even if it isn't a book, article, web site, or article from a database. If you use any of the following in your research, cite them as well.