Skip to Main Content
Websites
Congress.gov
Official website for U.S. government information. Includes text of congressional bills, treaties, a link to U.S. founding documents and more.
Hudson River History
A collection of articles pertaining to the river's history, curated by the Hudson River Maritime Museum in Kingston.
Hudson River Maritime Museum blog
Blog of the Kingston museum, written by museum curators and educators. Content includes text and images of maritime activities on the Hudson River.
Hudson River Valley Heritage
"Explore digital collections from libraries and cultural heritage institutions that document the rich history of New York’s Hudson River Valley. Discover photographs, diaries, correspondence, artwork, publications, oral history interviews, and more."
Hudson River Valley Institute
Home page of the regional heritage center based out of Marist University. Publishes the journal Hudson River Valley Review.
Jacob Leisler Institute for the Study of Early New York History
This Hudson-based non[profit organization is a research center devoted colonial New York under English rule, a period lasting 109 years.
Library of Congress
This site is a treasure trove of primary source documents for American historical research. On the home page, look at the items listed under “Collection Highlights.” See the collection of photographs, historic newspapers, and American Memory. American Memory is devoted to U.S. history.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Online access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services, courtesy of the Library of Congress.
Library of Congress Webcasts
Browse the menu on the left side of the page to find webcasts on your subject. Site also includes audio files.
Making of America
Hosted by the University of Michigan,
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
New Netherland Institute
The independent, non-profit institute has been transcribing, translating, and publishing the official 17th-century Dutch colonial documents for decades.
New York Heritage Digital Collections
From the website - "This site is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. The collections represent a broad range of historical, scholarly, and cultural materials held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. Collection items include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, books, and more."
New York Slavery Records Index
Hosted by the John Jay College of Criminal Justice, "The New York Slavery Records Index is a searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and their owners, beginning as early as 1525 and ending during the Civil War."
U.S. House of Representatives Open Government
In order to operate as transparently as possible, the House provides to the public a variety of disclosure documents, legislative resources, and video archives. Video archives are searchable back to the late 1970s.
The White House
Official Web site.
