LibGuides: Database Video Tutorials: Ebsco Database Tutorials

Learn One, Search Many!

Almost half of our database offerings are provided a company called Ebsco. The tutorial on the right shows you how to search its databases. By watching that video, you will be able to search databases covering every major subject taught at Columbia-Greene.

To search these Ebsco databases, your username and password for all library databases is your last name and the last four digits of your student ID (riker1111 or clinton-dix4563).

Academic Search Complete Covers most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals - as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals - and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
Alt-Healthwatch Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. In addition to providing full-text articles for more than 180 international journals and reports, this database provides access to hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, original research and book excerpts.
America: History and Life with Full Text Literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to the present this database also provides full-text coverage of more than 196 journals and more than 92 books.
American Antiquarian Society Archives The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection is the largest collection of North-American-focused historical periodicals available for purchase. Comprised of over 10 million pages, this collection contains approximately 7600 distinct periodical titles, all published between 1691 and 1877. The collection touches on a range of subject areas, including, but not limited to: science, technology, medicine, Native American and African American populations, law, politics, government, music, the arts, literature, language, publishing, agriculture, business and industry, advertising and marketing, religion, philosophy, social movements, military matters, and leisure activities.
Applied Science and Technology Source Applied Science & Technology Source covers a variety of applied science - from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering - the database provides full-text content and in-depth indexing and abstracts from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers' guides, directories and conference proceedings.
Associates Program Source Contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books, this resource provides comprehensive coverage of the most-relevant associate program level content.
Business Source Complete Collection of bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. PDF backfiles for the most important scholarly business journals, trade publications and top management journals date back as far as 1886. In addition, this resource provides full-text non-journal content, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, case studies, industry & market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Canadian Reference Center Includes leading Canadian periodicals and international (U.S. and U.K.) periodicals in full text; full-text reference books; 84,774 full-text biographies; and an Image Collection of 440,207 photos, maps and flags.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL, as well as full text for more than 220 books/monographs.
Computer Source Featuring nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics and software, Computer Source provides a balance of full-text technical journals and full-text consumer computer titles.
Ebsco Ebook Collection. Provides access to over 1360 purchased eBooks as well as the public domain (i.e., free) collection of over 3800 titles.
EBSCO K-12 A collection of databases covering social sciences, education, humanities, business, natural sciences, health and medicine.
Education Source The world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals, covering the areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Energy and Power Source Energy & Power Source is a comprehensive full-text database all directly dealing with energy industry-related issues. Hundreds of key energy-focused industry and market reports are also included. This database also features tens of thousands of additional energy industry articles, benchmarks, and best practices, selected from thousands of trade and industry publications.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source Entrepreneurial Studies Source provides insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. The database offers users full text for more than 125 key periodicals, 135 reference books, numerous case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV, one of the world's largest social network sites for high-tech entrepreneurs.
Environment Complete Contains more than 1,957,000 records, as well as full text for more than 680 journals, this resource offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center Contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
GreenFILE Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE's initial release will include A&I for more than 600 titles, including comprehensive coverage - from to volume 1, issue 1 to present - for Bioscience (back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), Journal of Ecology (back to 1913) and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management (back to 1948).
Health Source Consumer Edition Collection of consumer health information, providing access to nearly 80 full-text consumer health magazines and many other related resources. Topics covered include cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health and more.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, and offers access to 822 abstracted and indexed journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, womens history, history of education, and much more. It also provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Humanities Source Humanities Source offers full text for many of the most important academic sources in the humanities. This database provides feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Life with Full Text Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Life with Full Text contains the full text for more than 130 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 170 full-text monographs/books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, Handbook of Research with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Populations and Queer Theory & Social Change.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text Contains full text for more than 240 journals and a dozen full-text monographs. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
MasterFILE Premier Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975, includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
Medline with Full Text Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. EBSCO version links to some full text. Medline was created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Military and Government Collection Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
Newspaper Source Plus Includes 1,570 full-text newspapers, providing more than 27 million full-text articles. Newspaper Source Plus contains comprehensive full text for major national (U.S.) and international newspapers, and features more than 583,100 television and radio news transcripts, videos and podcasts.
Points of View Reference Center Full-text database is designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database contains 255 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument) and Critical Thinking Guide. Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 1,143 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Professional Development Collection Provides highly specialized professional collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
PsychARTICLES A counterpart of PsycINFO, this database provides full text for some of the abstracts found in PsycINFO. Covers general psychology offering access to over 25,000 articles available from 1988-present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection Contains 570 full-text journals and 48 books & monographs, offering users access to many of the most prominent and well-respected journals in the field. The database also includes full-text content from relevant magazines and health reports. Coverage is particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
PyschINFO Access to articles in the field of psychology and related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law (Covers 1887-present, over 1,700 journals).
Regional Business News Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Religion and Philosophy Collection Containing nearly 300 full-text journals, this database covers topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Social Sciences Full Text Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. It includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences dating back to 1972.
SocINDEX with Full Text SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Teacher Reference Center This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is now also offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
Vocational and Career Collection Comprehensive resource provides full-text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry-related periodicals, covering topics such as computer & data processing, electrical technology, nursing, interior design, law enforcement & criminal justice, marketing & advertising, hospitality & tourism, construction and more.

Database Searching Tutorials

The following video will teach you how to search scholarly databases such as Academic Search Complete, Military and Government Collection, Historial Abstracts, Religion and Philosophy Collection, the Ebsco Ebook Collection, and more.

Database Video Tutorials: Ebsco Database Tutorials

Learn One, Search Many!

Database Searching Tutorials

Reading an Article