LibGuides: Women's History: Digital Resources

Websites

African-American Women Changemakers
Library of Congress page with images of female African-American leaders, complete with detailed caption information.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
The Woman Series Collection consists of 197 episodes of the Woman series produced by WNED in Buffalo, New York from 1972-1977. Woman was a half-hour public affairs talk show covering issues of interest to women.
Elizabeth Cady Stanton papers
The Library of Congress hosts this collection of the papers of suffragist, reformer, and feminist theorist Elizabeth Cady Stanton (1815-1902) cover the years 1814 to 1946, with most of the material concentrated between 1840 and 1902. Consisting of approximately 1,000 items (4,164 images), the collection contains correspondence, speeches, articles, drafts of books, scrapbooks, and printed matter relating to Stanton and the woman's rights movement.
History Channel Women's History Month
Home page features links to articles, images of notable women in sports, sciences, arts, and politics
National Archives Women's History Month Page
Learn about the history of women in the United States by exploring their stories through letters, photographs, film, and other primary sources.
National Women's History Alliance
From the website: "The National Women’s History Alliance formerly, the National Women’s History Project, is a leader in promoting Women’s History and is committed to the goals of education, empowerment, equality, and inclusion."
Social Welfare History Project Image Portal
Hosted by Virginia Commonwealth University, "The Social Welfare Image Portal presents archival materials related to the history of social reform and social welfare in the United States. These images include photographs, pamphlets, placards, handbills, and comics pages drawn from the collections of VCU Libraries and other participating institutions."
Susan B. Anthony papers
The Library of Congress hosts this digital collection of the papers of reformer and suffragist Susan B. Anthony (1820-1906) span the period 1846-1934 with the bulk of the material dating from 1846 to 1906. The collection, consisting of approximately 500 items (6,265 images) includes correspondence, diaries, a daybook, scrapbooks, speeches, and miscellaneous items.
Women's History Month
This excellent site features online exhibits and collections, audio and video, and images for researchers.

Scholarly Article Databases

To access the following databases, you must sign in with your C-GCC email address and password.

Academic OneFile Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Academic Search Complete Students can use this database to search for speeches by and interviews with leading figures in women's history.
American Antiquarian Society Archives The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection is the largest collection of North-American-focused historical periodicals available for purchase. Comprised of over 10 million pages, this collection contains approximately 7600 distinct periodical titles, all published between 1691 and 1877. The collection touches on a range of subject areas, including, but not limited to: science, technology, medicine, Native American and African American populations, law, politics, government, music, the arts, literature, language, publishing, agriculture, business and industry, advertising and marketing, religion, philosophy, social movements, military matters, and leisure activities.
Humanities Source Humanities Source offers full text for many of the most important academic sources in the humanities. This database provides feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more.
JSTOR The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
Military and Government Collection Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
Religion and Philosophy Collection Containing nearly 300 full-text journals, this database covers topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Salem History E-Books This ebook database includes access to the reference books "Defining Documents in World History: Women's Rights," "From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women," and much more.